Cambodia is located in Southeast Asia at the southern part of Indochina. Among 10 countries of ASEAN, Cambodia’s land area is 181,035 square Kilometers, rank eighth country.

The population is 11,437,656 people ranks the seventh country. Then geographical location is in the middle of other ASEAN countries, which makes it easily accessible to the region and the world.

Geographically, Cambodia situation between 10th-15th parallels of northern latitude and between 102th-108th eastern attitudes. The geographical located indicates Cambodia is a tropical, warm and humid country. It affected by Asia monsoon with a lot of rain to enable growth of vegetation and all varieties of the crop. With these characteristics make Cambodia a favorable for development. Tourism development is highly desirable due to the warm climate for year round.

Boundary of the Country

Cambodia’s boundary is 2600 Kilometers consisting of five-sixth lands and one sixth coastal border.

Boundary of Land

The kingdom of Cambodia borders the People Democratic Republic of Lao at the North, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam at the East and Southeast and the Kingdom of Thailand at the West. The Kingdom of Cambodia has made an agreement on political and development cooperation with these neighboring countries.

Coastal Border

Cambodia situates along 440 Kilometer coastal border with medium depth of the tropical sea, rich in aquatic fish. There are beautifully uninhabited island, virgin beaches, white sand and clear air.

Shape and Dimension

The dimension of Cambodia is 181,035 square Kilometers shaping as the almost square polygon, which its central point is Kampong Thom province. Kampong Thom Province has 440 Kilometers from North to South and 560 Kilometers from west to east. The shape of Cambodia does not make any difficulty for the development of addition, Cambodia does not have any serious natural disasters like volcano or earthquake because the country situates under the direction of the storm.

Topography of Land

In general, Cambodia is deep and plain in the middle. The country enclosed by the principle of tourist-areas development, Cambodia has been classifying into four main parts:

1. Plain Area

The surface of Plain Area is 67,668 square Kilometers, which is totally inhabited by 5,898,305 people in the density of 235 people per square kilometer. The area has 63 Districts, 700 Comments, and 6516 Villages, which consists of Capital Phnom Penh and Provinces of Kandal, Kampong Chhan, Svay Rieng, Prey Veng and Takeo.

2. Tonle Sap Area

The surface of Tonle Sap area is 67,668 square kilometers which are totally inhabited by 3,505,448 people in the density of 57 persons per square kilometer.

The area has 60 Districts, 488 Communes, 4041 Villages, which consists of Provinces of Kampong Thom, Siem Reap, Banteay Meanchey, Battambang, Pursat, Kampong Chham, Uddar Meanchey and Pailin.

4. Coastal Area

Then the surface of the coastal area is 17,237 square kilometers, which is totally inhabited by 844,861 people in the density of 49 persons per square kilometers. The area has 21 districts, 152 communes, and 705 Village, which consists of provinces of Sihanouk Ville, Kampot, Koh Kong and Kep City.

5. Plateau and Mountainous Area

The surface of the area is 68,061 square kilometers, which is totally inhabited by 1,189,042 people in the density of 17 persons per square kilometer. The area has 39 Districts, 283 Communes and 2,246 villages, which consists of provinces of Kampong Speu, Preah Vihear Ratanakiri, Steung Treng, Kratie, and Mondulkiri.